Making Magnets from Disney Maps

Ever since my boys have been little, whenever we go somewhere fun, they like to take home a map. But, we never know what to do with them once we get home. Do we scrapbook them? Do we put them in picture frames alongside photos of the day? I wanted to do something different. That’s when I decided to make these cute little magnets for our fridge. My son wanted to help me, so he sat down at the kitchen table and helped me choose which attractions we were going to use. We love them! They are so easy to put together and they make a great souvenir.

Here is everything that I used to make these magnets:01e765c4da08f2b7abf93310f1ae1e2d1ee27141c3

  • Maps from all 4 parks, MNNSHP map, and Pop Century (that’s where we stayed)
  • Vase Fillers
  • Mod Podge
  • Super Glue
  • Paintbrush
  • Round Paper Cutter – not necessary, but it does make the project go by faster

I love that I found most of the items I needed  were at the Dollar Store. I could have sworn that I had seen magnets during one of my runs, but when I went this time, I could not find any. So, I ended up going to Walmart for those. They ended up being the most expensive part of the whole project. I already had the round cutter at home, but I’m sure you can find one at any craft store. They are fairly inexpensive, especially if you have a coupon.

Once you gather all of your supplies, just follow the simple steps and you have yourself an inexpensive souvenir (and quality time with your kids, if they want to help).

  1. Open your maps and decide which attractions you want to use. We chose ones that meant the most to us—rides we went on, Resort we stayed at, restaurants we ate at, etc..
  2. I used my cutter to cut out the attractions. If you don’t have a cutter, you can use one of the fillers to trace a circle and cut it out with scissors.
  3. Take your paintbrush and paint some Mod Podge onto the back of the filler and place one of your circles on top.
  4. Paint another thin layer of Mod Podge onto the back of the picture and wait for it to dry.
  5. Put a dab of glue on the back of the magnet and attach to the vase filler. We waited an hour and then put them on our fridge.

All in all, it only took us about 1 1/2 hrs to make a whole bunch of magnets. Most of the time was waiting for either the Mod Podge or the Super Glue to dry. We can’t wait to go back, so we can add more magnets to our fridge.

01cf01bbeccaf40b766514b8489abbbbe8c62191a8
No Disney World Magnet is complete without Cinderella’s Castle!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

